• If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • You already know Dokkio is an AI-powered assistant to organize & manage your digital files & messages. Very soon, Dokkio will support Outlook as well as One Drive. Check it out today!


Ulster County - Daniel Rojas

Page history last edited by Daniel Rojas 15 years, 1 month ago

Home > New York > Ulster County - Daniel Rojas



Welcome to Ulster County, New York




Ulster County is a county located in the state of New York, USA. It sits in the state's Mid-Hudson Region of the Hudson Valley. As of the 2000 census, the population was 177,749. However, recent population estimates completed by the United States Census Bureau for the 12-month period ending July 1 (2007) are at 181,860 residents. It is the northernmost county and largest county (by land area) in the New York Metropolitan Area. The county seat is the city of Kingston. The county is named for the Irish province of Ulster, then an earldom of the Duke of York (later James II).





The area of present day Ulster County was called Esopus by the first European settlers. In 1652 Thomas Chambers a freeholder from Rensselearwyck purchased land at Esopus and began trading there. In 1683, the Duke of York created twelve counties in his province. Ulster County was one of them. Its boundaries at that time included the present Sullivan County, and portions of the present Delaware, Orange, and Greene Counties. In 1777, the capital of New York State (the first state capital of independent New York) was established at Kingston, though it was subsequently moved to Wawarsing when the British burned that city. In 1797, portions of Otsego and Ulster Counties were split off to create Delaware County. In 1798, the southernmost towns in Ulster County were moved into Orange County, to compensate Orange for breaking away the southernmost portion of that county in order to form Rockland County. In 1800, portions of Albany and Ulster Counties were split off to create Greene County. In 1809, Sullivan County was split off from Ulster County. During the American Civil War volunteers were recruited from the more affluent families of the County to form the 139th New York Volunteer Infantry Regiment.




Cities, Towns and Villages


  • Denning (town)
  • Ellenville (village in Wawarsing)
  • Esopus (town)
  • Gardiner (town)
  • Hardenburgh (town)
  • Hurley (town)
  • Kingston (city)
  • Kingston (town)
  • Lloyd (town)
  • Marbletown (town)
  • Marlborough (town)
  • Milton (hamlet)
  • New Paltz (town)
  • New Paltz (village)
  • Olive (town)
  • Plattekill (town)
  • Rochester (town)
  • Rosendale (town)
  • Saugerties (town)
  • Saugerties (village)
  • Shandaken (town)
  • Shawangunk (town)
  • Ulster (town)
  • Wawarsing (town)
  • Woodstock (town)


Official County Websites




Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.